zur Startseite

Our Lady of Loreto Church

Għajnsielem became an autonomous parish by Papal decree in 1855. The Old Parish Church still stands but as the population of the village grew, a larger church was needed. Works on a new church in Gothic-Lombard style and in the shape of a Latin cross begun in 1924.

Work on the building was intermittent. Work was halted by World War One and two accidents in which the master mason Toni Vella broke his legs falling from the building. The first architect resigned, the second died and in all the church had four overseeing architects.

The church we see today was finally completed with the blessing of the bell tower in June 1979.

The church is dedicated to Our Lady of Loreto and when the new Church was finished, the titular statue was transferred from the Old Church to the new one. The fine statue was made by Gallard et Fils of Marseilles and arrived in Gozo on 14th October 1866 to be carried in procession from Mġarr Harbour to Għajnsielem.

contact

Our Lady of Loreto Church
Pjazza tad-Dehra
D- Għajnsielem, Gozo

fon: +356 21551211
email: info@gozodiocese.org

Sights / Sight Fort St Angelo Birgu, Xatt l-Assedju l-Kbir
Sights / Sightseeing Ta Pinu Basilica Gozo Għarb, Triq Ta Pinu
Sights / Sight Nativity of our Lady Church Gozzo Xagħra, Triq it-Tiġrija
Sights / Sight Fort Manoel Gżira Il-Gżira, Triq Il-Forti Manoel
Sights / Sight Zitadelle Gozo Gozo, Pjazza Indipendenza, Victoria

zur Startseite

Our Lady of Loreto Church

Għajnsielem wurde 1855 durch päpstlichen Erlass zur eigenständigen Pfarrei. Die Alte Pfarreikirche steht noch, aber da die Bevölkerung des Dorfes wuchs, benötigte man eine größere Kirche. 1924 begannen die Arbeiten an einer neuen Kirche im gotisch-lombardischen Stil und in Form eines lateinischen Kreuzes.

Die Arbeiten wurden mehrmals unterbrochen, durch den Ersten Weltkrieg Work und zwei Unfälle, bei denen sich der Steinmetzmeister Toni Vella beim Sturz vom Gebäude die Beine brach. Der erste Architekt gab auf, der zweite starb und insgesamt hatte die Kirche vier beaufsichtigende Architekten.

Mit der Segnung des Glockenturms im Juni 1979 war die Kirche schließlich endgültig fertiggestellt.

Die Kirche ist Unserer Lieben Frau von Loreto gewidmet. Als die neue Kirche fertig war, wurde die Statue der Namenspatronin von der alten Kirche in die neue überführt. Die schöne Statue wurde von Gallard et Fils in Marseilles gefertigt und kam am 14. Oktober 1866 in Gozo an, wo sie in einer Prozession vom Hafen Mġarr nach Għajnsielem getragen wurde.

Kontakt

Our Lady of Loreto Church
Pjazza tad-Dehra
MLT- Għajnsielem, Gozo

Telefon: +356 21551211
E-Mail: info@gozodiocese.org

Sehenswürdigkeiten / Burg Fort St Angelo Birgu, Xatt l-Assedju l-Kbir
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Kirche Ta Pinu Basilica Gozo Għarb, Triq Ta Pinu
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Kirche Nativity of our Lady Church Gozzo Xagħra, Triq it-Tiġrija
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Burg Fort Manoel Gżira Il-Gżira, Triq Il-Forti Manoel
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Kirche Zitadelle Gozo Gozo, Pjazza Indipendenza, Victoria