zur Startseite

Nativity of Our Lady Church

The parish church of ix-Xagħra is dedicated to the Nativity of the Virgin Mary, locally known as ‘Il-Bambina', and the fine marble interior of this church contains a particularly beautiful marble statue of the young virgin Mary ‘Il-Bambina'. This marble statue brought to Gozo from Marseilles in 1878.

The church is also referred to as il-Vittorja (Our Lady of Victories) as its feast day, which is celebrated on 8th September, also commemorates the victory of the Knights of Malta over the Turks in the Great Siege of 1565.

The parish of ix-Xagħra was established early, by Bishop David Cocco-Palmieri in 1688 with the original seat being the chapel of Saint Antony Abbot which still stands in the village.

The present church, like many others, grew from an older building first recorded late in the seventeenth century. The foundation stone of the church we see today was laid in 1815 and the church was consecrated in 1878. The fourth Collegiate of Gozo was established at ix-Xagħra in 1900 and the title of Basilica was conferred on the parish in 1967.

contact

Nativity of Our Lady Church
Triq it-Tiġrija
MLT-1010 Xagħra

Sights / Sight Fort St Angelo Birgu, Xatt l-Assedju l-Kbir
Sights / Sightseeing Ta Pinu Basilica Gozo Għarb, Triq Ta Pinu
Sights / Sight Fort Manoel Gżira Il-Gżira, Triq Il-Forti Manoel
Sights / Sight Our Lady of Loreto Kirche Għajnsielem, Gozo, Pjazza tad-Dehra
Sights / Sight Zitadelle Gozo Gozo, Pjazza Indipendenza, Victoria

zur Startseite

Nativity of Our Lady Church

Die Pfarrkirche von ix-Xagħra ist der Geburt der Jungfrau Maria gewidmet, die von den Einheimischen ‘Il-Bambina' genannt wird, und in der Kirche befindet sich eine besonders hübsche Marmorstatue der jungen Maria ‘Il-Bambina'. Diese Marmorstatue wurde 1878 von Marseille nach Gozo gebracht.

Die Kirche wird auch il-Vittorja (Unsere Liebe Frau der Siege) genannt, da ihr Kirchweihtag am 8. September auch der Gedenktag des Sieges der Ritter von Malta über die Türken in der Großen Belagerung von 1565 ist.

Die Pfarrei ix-Xagħra wurde schon 1688 von Bischof David Cocco-Palmieri errichtet, ihr ursprünglicher Sitz war die Kapelle von Saint Antony Abbot, die noch im Dorf steht.

Die jetzige Kirche erwuchs, wie viele andere, aus einem älteren Gebäude, dessen Aufzeichnungen auf das späte 17. Jahrhundert zurückgehen. Der Grundstein der Kirche, wie wir sie heute sehen, wurde 1815 gelegt und die Kirche wurde 1878 geweiht. 1900 wurde das vierte Kollegiat von Gozo in ix-Xagħra eingerichtet und die Bezeichnung Basilika wurde der Pfarrei 1967 verliehen.

Kontaktinformation
Kontakt: Gozo Diocese Telefon: +356 21551211
E-Mail-Adresse: info@gozodiocese.org Website: http://www.gozodiocese.org

Kontakt

Nativity of Our Lady Church
Triq it-Tiġrija
MLT-1010 Xagħra

Sehenswürdigkeiten / Sehenswürdigkeit Fort St Angelo Birgu, Xatt l-Assedju l-Kbir
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Besichtigung Ta Pinu Basilica Gozo Għarb, Triq Ta Pinu
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Sehenswürdigkeit Fort Manoel Gżira Il-Gżira, Triq Il-Forti Manoel
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Sehenswürdigkeit Our Lady of Loreto Kirche Għajnsielem, Gozo, Pjazza tad-Dehra
Sehenswürdigkeiten / Sehenswürdigkeit Zitadelle Gozo Gozo, Pjazza Indipendenza, Victoria